null
Server & Workstation RAM at Wholesale Volume Pre-tested Ships Today
Dell Precision Towers Explained: T5810 to 7920, Specs & PSUs

Dell Precision Towers Explained: T5810 to 7920, Specs & PSUs

Posted by Konstantin Protasov, PCSP on Sep 5th 2026

In the four weeks to August 10, 2026, our Search Console logged one question about Dell Precision towers 4,297 times in 105 spellings: “Precision 5820 power supply 425W 685W 950W”, with 1000W, 1100W, 1125W and 1400W in the long tail. Our pages averaged position 5.6 on it and did not answer. Dell's documents do: the Precision 5820 Tower ships with exactly two power supplies, 425 W or 950 W. The spec sheet prints “425W* or 950W”, the asterisk excluding Core X builds; the owner's manual says “425 W or 950 W with Xeon W Series CPUs; 950 W with Core X Series CPUs.” Every other wattage belongs to another Precision.

Dell launched thirteen tower generations between 2012 and 2024 under near-identical names; the differences that matter in 2026 live in owner's manuals. This covers every tower from the 2013 T3610 to the current 5860, 7875 and 7960: dates, memory rules, the PSU list, Windows 11 status, documented upgrades, and used and new prices as of September 4–5, 2026 (“T5820” is reseller shorthand for Dell's “Precision 5820 Tower”). The cross-brand price picture is in our 2026 workstation price article.

The short version, checked September 10, 2026:

  • Every other wattage is another model: 685 W the Tower 5810, 7810 and T3610; 825 W the 7810 and T5610; 1300 W the T7910; 950 W also the 7820's only supply; 1400 W the 7920; 1350 W the 5860 and 7875; Core X 5820s are 950 W only.
  • The upgrade is a Dell part: the 950 W supply, V7594, was $149.99 and “Limited Stock” on dell.com on September 5, 2026.
  • Windows 11: the 5820, 7820 and 7920 are on Microsoft's processor list and Dell's tested list; the Tower 5810/7810/7910 and 3620 are on neither.
  • Our shelf, September 10, 2026: T5820 from $124.99 barebones (785 units) and $511.90 complete with Windows 11 Pro (132); T5810 complete from $285.84; T7820 from $793.69; T7920 from $980.92 on a Grade D chassis.

The Precision Tower Family Tree, 2012 to 2024

Dell's numbering gives the class — 3000 the entry tower with unbuffered memory, 5000 the single-socket workstation with registered ECC memory, 7000 the dual-socket machine — and the second digit the generation. DDR3 ends with the T3610/T5610/T7610, DDR4 runs from the Tower 5810 to the 3650, DDR5 starts with the 3660.

Model (class) Announced CPU family (chipset) Memory: type, slots, max, speed TPM / Win 11 Cheapest complete on our shelf, Sept 10, 2026
T3610 (3000) Sept 9, 2013 Xeon E5-1600 v2, up to 6 cores DDR3, 8 slots, 128 GB, 1866 ECC — / No Sold out (0 of 52 listings)
Tower 5810 (5000) Aug 12, 2014 E5-1600 v3/v4, select E5-2600 v3/v4, up to 14 cores (C612) DDR4 RDIMM, 8 slots, 256 GB, 2133 (v3) / 2400 (v4) 1.2 / No $285.84 E5-2643 v4, 16 GB, K620, no OS — 32 units
Tower 7810 (7000) Aug 12, 2014 1–2× E5-2600 v3/v4, up to 22 cores (C612) DDR4 RDIMM, 8 slots, 256 GB, 2400 2.0 firmware with Win 10 / No $648.94 2× E5-2690 v4, 32 GB, K600, Win 10 Pro — 3 units
Tower 7910 (7000) Aug 12, 2014 1–2× E5-2600 v3/v4, up to 18 cores (C612) DDR4 RDIMM/LRDIMM, 16 slots, 512 GB, 2133 BIOS option / No $518.94 E5-2690 v4, 16 GB, M4000, Grade D, Win 11 installed (see the Windows 11 note) — 18 units
Tower 3620 (3000) Oct 1, 2015 Core 6th/7th gen or Xeon E3-1200 v5/v6 (C236) DDR4 ECC/non-ECC, 4 slots, 64 GB, 2133 1.2 / No $374.11 i7-7700, 16 GB, iGPU, Win 10 Pro — quantity not tracked
5820 Tower (5000) Aug 1, 2017; orders Oct 3 Xeon W-2100/W-2200 or Core X, up to 18 cores (C422 / X299) DDR4 RDIMM, 8 slots: 256 GB at 2666 (W-2100), 512 GB at 2933 (W-2200); UDIMM 256 GB (Core X) 2.0 / Yes $511.90 W-2135, 16 GB, K620, Win 11 Pro — 132 units; barebones $124.99 (785)
7820 Tower (7000) Aug 1, 2017 1–2× Xeon Scalable 1st/2nd gen, up to 28 cores each (C621) DDR4 RDIMM, 12 slots, 768 GB, 2933 2.0 / Yes $793.69 2× Bronze 3106, 32 GB, M2000, Win 11 Pro — 48 units
7920 Tower (7000) Aug 1, 2017 1–2× Xeon Scalable 1st/2nd gen, up to 28 cores each (C621) DDR4 RDIMM/LRDIMM, 24 slots, 1.5 TB at 2666, 3 TB with “L” CPUs, 768 GB at 2933 2.0 (early units 1.2, upgradable) / Yes $1,561.63 Gold 6128, 16 GB, P2000, Win 10 Pro — 3 units; Grade D $980.92 2× Silver 4114, 16 GB, K2200 — 64
3630 Tower (3000) July 2018 Core 8th/9th gen or Xeon E-2100/E-2200 DDR4 UDIMM, 4 slots, 128 GB, 2666 2.0 / Yes $449.94 i7-8700, 16 GB, Win 10 Pro — 1 unit; build-your-own $79.98 (2)
3640 Tower (3000) 2020 (reviewed Nov 12, 2020) Core 10th gen or Xeon W-1200 DDR4 ECC/non-ECC, 4 slots, 128 GB, 2666 / 2933 2.0 / Yes $667.94 i7-10700, 16 GB, iGPU, Win 11 Pro — 4 units
3650 Tower (3000) May 10, 2021 Core 11th gen or Xeon W-1300; one PCIe Gen4 x16 DDR4 ECC/non-ECC, 4 slots, 128 GB, 3200 2.0 / Yes $1,910.90 i7-11700K, 128 GB — 38 units; build-your-own $99.98 (47)
3660 Tower (3000) Mar 1, 2022 Core 12th/13th gen, up to i9-13900K DDR5 ECC/non-ECC, 4 slots, 128 GB, up to 5600 2.0 / shipped with Win 11 Not stocked
7865 Tower (7000, AMD) June 7, 2022 Threadripper PRO 5000 WX, up to 64 cores DDR4 ECC, up to 1 TB 2.0 / shipped with Win 11 Sold out (0 of 10 listings)
5860 Tower (5000) Mar 24, 2023 Xeon W-2400/W-2500, up to 26 cores, PCIe Gen5 (W790) DDR5 RDIMM, 8 slots, 2 TB, 4800 2.0 / shipped with Win 11 Sold out (0 of 10); new from $6,372.02 on dell.com, Sept 4
7960 Tower (7000, 1 socket) Mar 24, 2023 Xeon W-3400/W-3500, up to 60 cores, PCIe Gen5 DDR5 RDIMM, 16 slots, 4 TB, 4800 2.0 / shipped with Win 11 Sold out (0 of 19); “Unavailable” on dell.com US, Sept 4
7875 Tower (7000, AMD) Oct 19, 2023 Threadripper PRO 7000/9000 WX, up to 96 cores, PCIe Gen5 DDR5 RDIMM, 8 slots, 2 TB, 5200 (5600 with TR PRO 9000) 2.0 / shipped with Win 11 One build-your-own with a 7985WX, $6,975.00 (1); new from $7,478.05
3680 Tower (3000) Feb 26, 2024 Core 14th gen, up to i9-14900K; one PCIe Gen5 x16 DDR5 ECC/non-ECC, 4 slots, 128 GB, 4400 2.0 / shipped with Win 11 Not stocked

Specs from the Dell documents linked in this article; dates from the linked coverage; Windows 11 per Microsoft's processor list, Dell's tested list and TPM. Prices: PCSP catalog, September 10, 2026, units per listing; Grade D is our clearance grade, same one-year warranty; — = not stated by Dell.

The DDR4 era is the used market: T5810, T7810, 5820, 7820 and 7920 are 7,645 of the 7,897 Dell workstation units we track, 4,357 of them T5820s; the two “No” blocks cannot be fixed with a TPM module, because Microsoft lists no Xeon E5 v3/v4 or 6th/7th-generation Core and Dell does not test those models.

Bar chart of the cheapest complete Dell Precision tower per model in PCSP stock on September 10, 2026, from a $285.84 Tower 5810 to a $1,910.90 3650 Tower, with the Windows 11 models marked.

Windows 11 installed starts at $511.90; the $449.94 3630 is on both lists but ships Windows 10. PCSP catalog, September 10, 2026.

Power Supply Options by Model: The Definitive List

Dell's graphics-power rule sits beside each option because the supply decides how much GPU the chassis may carry; the first of two wattages is the higher.

Model Dell-documented PSU options Dell's graphics-power rule Source
T5600 / T7600 820 W or 635 W / 1300 W T7600: 3 GPUs up to 600 W total Spec sheets, 2012
T3610 685 W or 425 W 2 GPUs up to 300 W total Spec sheet, 2013
T5610 / T7610 825 W or 685 W / 1300 W T7610: up to 3 cards, 675 W Spec sheets, 2013; T7610 manual
Tower 5810 685 W or 425 W, 80 PLUS Gold “up to 300W (total graphics in 2 slots, 685W PSU)”; 225 W per card Spec sheet, 2014; manual
Tower 7810 825 W or 685 W “up to 300W (total graphics in 2 slots, (with 825W PSU)”; single card max 225 W Spec sheet, 2016; manual
Tower 7910 1300 W at 181–240 VAC; 1100 W at 108–180; 1000 W at 100–107 Up to 4 full-length cards, max 675 W Owner's manual, Rev A02
5820 Tower 425 W or 950 W with Xeon W; 950 W only with Core X. No other wattage in any Dell document “up to 600W with maximum of up to 2 x 300W double width graphics cards” — one figure, printed without a per-supply split; none published for 425 W Spec sheet and manual, linked in the introduction
7820 Tower 950 W, one option 2×300 W double-width with one CPU; 2×160 W single-width with two Spec sheet; manual
7920 Tower 1400 W at 181–240 VAC; 1100 W at 100–180 VAC (guidebook: 1000 W at 100–107). No 950 W option 900 W (3×300 W) only with a second CPU, the “CL” 8 A chassis and a 220 V cord in the US Spec sheet; manual; guidebook
Tower 3620 290 W (mini tower) or 365 W Two PCIe x16 slots (one wired x4) Owner's manual, Rev A04
3630 Tower 300 W or 460 W (Dell's table also carries an uncorroborated 850 W line) Cards of 75 W or more need a 6-pin and/or 8-pin connector Setup and specifications
3640 Tower 300 W Bronze, 300 W Gold, 460 W, 550 W or 1000 W Gold Validated to Quadro RTX 5000 / Radeon Pro W5700 Setup and specifications
3650 Tower 300, 460, 550 or 1000 W Gold; “PSU availability varies by region” One PCIe x16 Gen4 slot Spec sheet
3660 Tower 300, 500, 750 (discontinued) or 1000 W Platinum Up to RTX A6000 / RTX 3090 Ti / Radeon Pro W6800 Setup and specifications
3680 Tower 300, 500 or 1000 W Platinum One Gen5 x16 slot “supporting graphics cards up to 450 W”; K-CPU turbo needs the 1000 W unit Spec sheet; guidebook
5860 Tower 750 W Platinum; 1350 W optional (+$15.39 in Dell's US configurator, Sept 4, 2026) Two pro cards; list tops at RTX Pro 6000 Blackwell, 300 W Spec sheet, 2025
7875 Tower 1000 W or 1350 W Platinum Up to two 300 W cards (StorageReview, Feb 13, 2024) Owner's manual
7960 Tower 1100/1400 W Gold or 1500/2200 W Platinum (second figure at 220 V) Up to four double-height GPUs (DEVELOP3D, Mar 24, 2023) Setup and specifications

Every wattage is from the linked Dell document, verbatim where quoted; pages checked September 4–5, 2026. The 7865's supply is not stated in the Dell release we opened.

Chart of the Dell-documented power supply options for the DDR4 Precision towers: 425 or 950 W for the 5820, 425 and 685 W for the Tower 5810, 685 and 825 W for the 7810, 1100 W at 120 V for the 7910, 950 W for the 7820 and 1100 W for the 7920.

Every wattage sits with its own model: the 5820 has only 425 W and 950 W. Dell documents, September 2026.

Which supply is in my 5820, and which do I need? Read the label on the unit at the back. Dell prints one two-card budget for the 5820 and no figure at all for the 425 W build, so a 300 W-class card belongs in the 950 W machine; owners report, and Dell does not document, that the 425 W unit ships without PCIe auxiliary leads. The swap is Dell part V7594, listed for the 5820 and 7820 Towers (they share a chassis) at $149.99, “Limited Stock” on September 5, 2026.

Loose supplies on our shelf, September 10, 2026 (Dell power supplies): T5820 425 W $19.00 genuine (8 units, Y097X) or $19.94 used (4, 3W8F7); 685 W F68EF-00 $23.74 (2); T7910 1300 W $74.99 (2); 3630 300 W $24.99 (2); no 950 or 1400 W tower unit today.

T3610 to Tower 5810, 7810 and 7910: The Xeon E5 Towers

The T3610 (September 9, 2013, with the T5610 and T7610) is the last DDR3 Precision, per Dell's 2013 spec sheet; its Ivy Bridge Xeon predates AVX2, which Adobe now requires, and no E5 is on Microsoft's Windows 11 list. Our T3610 shelf sold out: 52 listings, none purchasable.

Tower 5810, 7810 and 7910 (August 12, 2014) are the first DDR4 Precisions, and two premises we started with were wrong: the Tower 5810 spec sheet says “685W or 425W”, not 685/825 as we and several listings assumed, and the Tower 7910 manual lists a single 1300 W supply, delivering 1100 W on a 120 V US circuit. The 7810 is the two-socket version, “up to 22 cores”.

On our shelf, September 10, 2026 (Tower 5810 category): build-your-own from $103.98 (90 units); the $285.84 complete machine is in the family tree; with Windows 10 Pro from $299.91, E5-1650 v3, 16 GB, 1 TB, K600 (90). Tower 7810: build-your-own from $264.98 (73); the one complete dual-CPU build is the $648.94 machine above. Tower 7910: standard stock sold out; the clearance category has Grade D chassis from $183.99 build-your-own (19) to the $518.94 complete above (19), listed with Windows 11 Pro installed on a processor Microsoft does not list — buy it as a Linux or Windows 10 machine.

5820, 7820 and 7920: The Xeon W and Xeon Scalable Towers

5820 Tower. Announced with the 7820 and 7920 on August 1, 2017, the three are 5,853 of the units we track, being the oldest Precisions on both vendors' Windows 11 lists. The spec sheet lists Xeon W-2000 and Core X CPUs “with up to 18 cores” on two chipsets, “Intel C422 (Skylake/Cascade Lake W); Intel X299 (Skylake/Cascade Lake X)”: different boards — the Core X board takes non-ECC UDIMMs only and on i7-X leaves slot 1 inactive (card-slots page) — and no CPU swap crosses them. Dell's processor table includes the W-2245, W-2275 and W-2295; its memory page ties 2933 MT/s and 512 GB to Cascade Lake.

The 7820 Tower is the same chassis with two Xeon Scalable sockets, “(1st and 2nd generation) with up to 28 cores per processor”, 768 GB at 2933 in 12 slots and the 950 W supply (spec sheet).

The 7920 Tower is the different machine: 433 × 218 × 566 mm and 24.3 kg typical (spec sheet, technical guidebook); 24 slots for “up to 1.5TB 2666MHz DDR4 ECC memory with dual CPUs, up to 3TB with select CPU SKUs”; one 1400 W supply, whose 900 W graphics rule in the PSU list is the most misquoted line about this machine.

Windows 11, with the record corrected. Microsoft's Windows 11 supported Intel processors page (October 16, 2025) lists Xeon W-2100, W-2200, Core 7000X/9000X/10000X and Xeon Scalable as family lines, as its 2021 SKU list did; no Xeon E5, E3 v5/v6 or 6th/7th-generation Core appears on any version. Dell's tested-for-upgrade list (May 10, 2026) carries the 5820, 7820, 7920, 3630, 3640 and 3650 and none of the older towers. The 24H2 and 25H2 lists that omit W-2100/W-2200 and Core X address OEMs building new devices, not owners upgrading; a W-2245 5820 took 24H2 on September 8, 2025 after BIOS and driver updates (Microsoft Q&A). An earlier compatibility list of ours used that narrower OEM list and is being corrected; that article keeps the HP and Lenovo verdicts.

Tower CPU on Microsoft's Windows 11 list On Dell's tested list TPM as shipped Verdict
T3600/T3610 families, Tower 5810/7810/7910 No — no Xeon E5 on any version No 1.2 (7810: 2.0 firmware with Win 10) Not supported; Windows 10 or Linux
Tower 3620 / 3420 No — 6th/7th-gen Core and E3 v5/v6 absent No 1.2 Not supported
5820 Tower, Xeon W-2100 / W-2200 Yes since 2021; absent from the 24H2/25H2 OEM lists Yes 2.0 Supported; keep BIOS and drivers current
5820 Tower, Core X (i7/i9-X) Yes (Core 7000X/9000X/10000X); same 24H2/25H2 note Yes 2.0 Supported
7820 / 7920 Tower, Xeon Scalable 1st/2nd gen Yes on every list including 24H2/25H2 Yes 2.0 (early non-Win-10 units 1.2, field-upgradable) Supported
3630 / 3640 / 3650 Tower Yes (8th–11th-gen Core, E-2100/2200, W-1200/1300) Yes 2.0 Supported
3660 / 3680 / 5860 / 7865 / 7875 / 7960 Yes Shipped with Windows 11 2.0 Supported

Sources as linked above; TPM per the Dell documents. A Windows 11 image often installs on the “not supported” machines; neither vendor stands behind it.

On our shelf, September 10, 2026, beyond the complete machines in the family tree. Precision T5820: barebones chassis $124.99 (785 units), W-2133 fitted $184.48 (668), W-2135 $179.98 (233), up to a W-2255 with 64 GB of 2933 and a Quadro RTX 4000 at $1,777.16 (38). T7820: build-your-own from $334.98 (25), $384.99 with two CPUs (55), 2× Gold 6140 chassis $394.78 (56). T7920: build-your-own from $1,271.84, or clearance Grade D from $722.98 (64).

The 5820 ladder, from a $124.99 chassis to a Windows 11 seat

815 barebones chassis, 640 with a W-2133 fitted, 132 complete W-2135 machines with Windows 11 Pro — every listing shows the power supply, the processor and the unit count.

Precision T5820 in stock Request a quote

3620, 3630, 3640, 3650 and 3680: The Entry Towers

The 3000-series towers are desktop-class machines with workstation firmware, optional ECC and pro-GPU validation; for a single-user CAD seat they often beat a Xeon box on single-thread speed. The DDR5 3660 and 3680 are new-purchase machines; the DDR4 four, per Dell's documents:

  • Tower 3620 (October 1, 2015): its owner's manual names a BIOS option “TPM 1.2 Security”, and its 6th/7th-generation Core or Xeon E3 v5/v6 is on no Windows 11 list. Ours is the $374.11 i7-7700 machine in the family tree.
  • 3630 Tower (July 2018): 8th- and 9th-generation Core plus Xeon E-2100/E-2200 in one processor table, per the Rev A02 manual; TPM 2.0; 23% smaller than the 3620 per DEVELOP3D. Build-your-own only on our shelf.
  • 3640 Tower (2020): i3-10100 to i9-10900K plus Xeon W-1250 to W-1290P per Dell's processor page; 128 GB of UDIMM, 2933 only with the processors named in the upgrade table. Ours (3640 category): the $667.94 Windows 11 machine above; 32 GB and 1 TB $907.92; with a Quadro P1000 $1,041.90 (4 each); build-your-own $99.98 (44).
  • 3650 Tower (May 10, 2021): 11th-generation Core or Xeon W-1350 to W-1390P, the first entry Precision with a PCIe Gen4 x16 slot, per its spec sheet. Build-your-own only on our shelf.

5860, 7875 and 7960: The Current Generation, and What It Costs New

All three are DDR5, PCIe Gen5 and Windows 11 from the factory. The 5860 Tower (spec sheet, 2025 revision) runs Xeon W-2400/W-2500 to the 26-core, 250 W w7-2595X, with two pro cards up to the 300 W RTX Pro 6000 Blackwell; the 7960 Tower (setup and specifications) Xeon W-3400/W-3500 to the 60-core w9-3595X in sixteen slots to 4 TB; the 7875 Tower (owner's manual) Threadripper PRO 7945WX to the 96-core 7995WX, all 350 W.

New, dell.com US, captured September 4, 2026. The 5860 Tower started at $6,372.02 with a w3-2423, 16 GB, no drive, a Radeon Pro W6400 and the 750 W supply. The 7875 Tower started at $7,478.05 with a 7945WX, 16 GB, 256 GB and a W6400. The 7960 Tower showed “Unavailable” on the US store. Used: there is no market yet. Our 5860, 7865 and 7960 shelves show 39 listings and zero purchasable; the one current-generation build is the $6,975.00 7875 in the family tree.

The Performance Ladder: Which Generation Is Fast Enough

PassMark's CPU Mark is a synthetic benchmark, used here because it scores every processor in the family on a single thread, which is what Autodesk tells Revit buyers to shop for. Read from cpubenchmark.net on September 4, 2026, per socket; a second CPU adds roughly 1.8–1.9× on multi-thread.

CPU (tower) Cores / threads PassMark single-thread PassMark multi-thread
Xeon E5-1650 v3 (5810) 6 / 12 2,118 10,355
Xeon E5-1650 v4 (5810) 6 / 12 2,358 11,276
Xeon E5-2690 v4 (7810/7910) 14 / 28 2,067 19,150
Xeon W-2123 (5820) 4 / 8 2,176 8,465
Xeon W-2135 (5820) 6 / 12 2,599 14,360
Xeon W-2245 (5820) 8 / 16 2,729 19,400
Xeon W-2255 (5820) 10 / 20 2,698 22,606
Xeon W-2295 (5820) 18 / 36 2,529 29,625
Core i9-10900X (5820 Core X) 10 / 20 2,663 22,276
Xeon Silver 4114 (7820/7920) 10 / 20 1,684 13,167
Xeon Gold 6248 (7820/7920) 20 / 40 2,224 28,897
Core i7-6700 (3620) 4 / 8 2,274 8,033
Core i7-9700 (3630) 8 / 8 2,744 13,177
Core i7-10700 (3640) 8 / 16 2,879 15,980
Core i7-11700 (3650) 8 / 16 3,256 20,591
Core i9-14900KS (3680) 24 / 32 4,810 59,924
Xeon w5-2445 (5860) 10 / 20 3,354 32,193
Xeon w7-2495X (5860) 24 / 48 3,459 57,522
Threadripper PRO 7975WX (7875) 32 / 64 3,989 95,618

PassMark CPU Mark, cpubenchmark.net, read September 4, 2026; dual-socket towers per socket. The 14900KS page stands in for the 65 W desktop part, whose page did not resolve.

Bar chart of PassMark single-thread scores by Precision tower generation, from 2,118 for the Xeon E5-1650 v3 in a Tower 5810 and 2,599 for the W-2135 in a 5820 to 4,810 for the Core i9-14900KS in a 3680 Tower.

Single-thread is what a CAD seat feels: 2,118 in a Tower 5810 against 2,599 in a 5820. PassMark, September 4, 2026.

For a CAD seat, a W-2135 and a W-2245 sit within 5% of each other and 10–16% above the best Tower 5810 processor, the E5-1650 v4; the E5-1650 v3 people actually buy trails the W-2245 by 22% and an i7-11700 by 35%; the 14900KS is 76% above the W-2245. One Gold 6248 roughly equals a W-2295 on multi-thread, and a 7920 with two of them lands around 52,000–55,000, below a single w7-2495X at 57,522 — but that pair of processors is an upgrade on top of a chassis. The complete 7920s on our shelf today are a single Gold 6128 at $1,561.63, or two Silver 4114s on a Grade D chassis at $980.92.

Application OS and CPU Memory Graphics Source
Autodesk Revit 2026 Windows 10 v1809+ or 11; “Highest single core base clock speed (GHz) is recommended” 16 GB minimum, 32 GB value, 64 GB+ performance DirectX 11; 4 GB VRAM minimum, 8 GB for accelerated preview Autodesk requirements (reseller-hosted copy)
Adobe Premiere Pro 25.x Windows 10 22H2+ or 11; “Intel 6th Generation or newer CPU”, AVX2 required 8 GB minimum, 16 GB HD, “32 GB or more for 4K and higher” 2 GB minimum, 8 GB recommended Adobe, 25.0–25.4 page, archived Aug 20, 2025
Adobe After Effects 26.0 / 26.2 Windows 11 v24H2 minimum; 6th gen or newer, AVX2 required 16 GB minimum, 32 GB+ for 4K 4 GB minimum (Maxwell or newer, or OpenCL 2.0), 8 GB recommended Adobe, archived Apr 17, 2026
SOLIDWORKS 2025–2027 Windows 10 or 11 64-bit; processor stated only as “x86_64” “16 GB (32 GB recommended)” “Certified cards and drivers”; SSD recommended Dassault, archived Aug 28, 2026

Vendor pages as dated (archive capture dates where the live page refused our fetch). Adobe's Premiere 26 and AutoCAD 2026 pages could not be read; their figures are deliberately absent.

Adobe's AVX2 line ends the T3600 and T3610 families (Intel lists AVX2 from the Haswell E5 v3 on) and its 24H2 line ends the Tower 5810/7810/7910 and 3620; from the 5820 up, both clear. The vendors converge on 32 GB, and 64 GB for big Revit models or 4K video, priced next.

Upgrade Paths Dell Documents: CPU, Memory, Power Supply and GPU

Four upgrades matter on a used Precision and Dell documents all four; the table is what the manuals say, and below it what our shelf supplies as of September 10, 2026.

Tower CPU path Dell documents Memory rule PSU and graphics budget
Tower 5810 / 7810 / 7910 E5 v3 → v4 needs BIOS A12 or later: “Version A12 is the minimum revision to support Broadwell” (A29 notes, Jan 9, 2019) 2133 MT/s with v3, 2400 with v4 (Intel ARK); 256 GB in 8 slots (5810/7810), 512 GB in 16 with LRDIMMs (7910) 5810: 300 W of graphics with the 685 W unit, 225 W per card. 7810: 300 W with 825 W. 7910: four cards to 675 W
5820 Tower Dell's processor table lists W-2100, W-2200 and Core X; the BIOS notes we opened (2.5.0, 2.25.0, 2.38.0) say nothing about CPU support, and owners report 2017-era boards refusing W-22xx — unverified either way W-2100: 256 GB at 2666. W-2200: 512 GB at 2933; 3200 DIMMs run at 2933. Core X: non-ECC UDIMM 425 → 950 W is Dell part V7594 (PSU list above). 950 W: 2 × 300 W double-width; 425 W: no budget published
7820 / 7920 Tower “1st and 2nd generation” Scalable on both spec sheets; the 2.18.0 (Jan 12, 2022) and 2.50.0 (Oct 15, 2025) BIOS notes are silent on CPU support 2933 only with Gold 62xx / Platinum 82xx; 2666 Gold 52xx; 2400 Silver; 2133 Bronze. 7820: 768 GB. 7920: 1.5 TB at 2666, 3 TB with 128 GB LRDIMMs and “L” CPUs 7820 (950 W): 2 × 300 W with one CPU, 2 × 160 W with two. 7920 (1400 W): 900 W only with a second CPU, the CL chassis (kit 470-ADUR) and 220 V
3630 / 3640 / 3650 3630: 8th → 9th-gen Core and E-2100 → E-2200 in one processor table (Rev A02 manual). 3640: 10th gen / W-1200. 3650: 11th gen / W-1300 UDIMM, 4 slots, 128 GB; 3630 at 2666; 3640 at 2933 only with i7, i9, W-1270, W-1290; 3650 at 3200 3640/3650: 300 to 1000 W; cards of 75 W or more need a 6- or 8-pin lead (3630 manual)

Sources: the Dell spec sheets, manuals, guidebooks and BIOS pages linked in this article; Intel ARK for E5 v3/v4 memory speeds.

Memory from our shelf (DDR4 server memory): the T5810-class 2133 and 2400 RDIMMs are the cheapest DDR4 we sell, 8 GB at $45.99. The 2666 RDIMMs for a W-2100 or first-generation Scalable tower: 32 GB $215.99 ($6.75 per GB), and kits at the same $6.75 per GB — 32 GB from $215.96 (45 in stock), 64 GB from $431.92 (22). Only a W-2200, Gold 62xx or Platinum 82xx machine benefits from 2933 (16 GB $139.99, 32 GB $279.99, 64 GB $559.99, $8.75 per GB); 3200 is wasted on any tower here. Entry-tower UDIMMs are thin: non-ECC 8 GB 2400 $61.99 (20), 16 GB 2666 $139.99, ECC 16 GB 2666 $91.99 (13). Why DDR4 is the cheap side of 2026: our refurbished DDR4 article.

Graphics cards from our shelf (graphics cards, and what to check on one), with units: Quadro M2000 4 GB $69.99 (18), P2200 5 GB $99.99 (23), T1000 4 GB $213.74 (15), Radeon Pro W6600 8 GB $249.99 (10), Dell OEM GeForce RTX 3070 8 GB $299.99 (133); above that only a Tesla T4, an RTX A2000 ($348.99, 2) and a Quadro RTX 6000 24 GB ($1,092.49, 2). Match board power to Dell's budget for your supply: a card wanting a 6- or 8-pin lead belongs in the 950, 1300 or 1400 W chassis, not the 425 W one.

Three checks before ordering a CPU or power supply for a used 5820. The label on the supply: 425 or 950 is printed on it. The service tag on Dell's support site: it shows the shipped configuration and BIOS history, where the board-revision question for W-2200 processors is answered, or not at all. If not, buy the processor installed and tested in the chassis; every T5820 in our Xeon W and build-your-own lines ships that way.
$

Used-Market Prices, September 2026

Dealer asking prices for refurbished Precision towers beside the closest configuration on our shelf. eBay sold listings and Dell's refurbished store refused our fetches and are absent rather than guessed.

Machine, as listed Dealer asking price, Sept 4–5, 2026 Closest on our shelf, Sept 10, 2026
Precision 5820, W-2133, 8 GB, 256 GB SSD, Windows 11 PCLiquidations, $392.97, 30-day returns, 1-year warranty W-2135, 16 GB, 256 GB SSD, M4000, Windows 11 Pro, Grade D, $526.33 (9); W-2135, 16 GB, K620, Windows 11 Pro, $511.90 (132)
Precision 5820, W-2245, 8 GB, 256 GB SSD PCLiquidations, $451.99 No 8 GB W-2200 build; ours start at a W-2255 with 64 GB, $740.48 (45), up to the same processor with an RTX 4000 at $1,777.16 (38)
Precision Tower 5810, E5-1650 v3, 8 GB, 256 GB SSD PCLiquidations, $339.99 (GT 710 +$65) E5-1650 v3, 16 GB, 1 TB, K600, Windows 10 Pro, $299.91 (90); E5-2643 v4, 16 GB, NVMe, K620, no OS, $285.84 (32)
Precision 7820, Xeon Bronze 3104, 8 GB, 256 GB NVMe, no OS PCLiquidations, $462.98 Build-your-own from $334.98 (25); 2 × Bronze 3106, 32 GB, M2000, Windows 11 Pro, $793.69 (48)
Precision 5820, W-2135, 32 GB, 2 TB NVMe, Quadro P2000, Windows 11 Pro Newegg marketplace seller, $1,003.00, 1-year parts and labor W-2133, 128 GB, 2 TB HDD + 1 TB SSD, Quadro P4000, Windows 11 Pro, $1,310.66 (92)
Precision Tower 5820, W-2123, 32 GB, 1 TB NVMe, Windows 11 (Renewed) Amazon Renewed, about $1,120 (first price shown) As above: $511.90 (W-2135, 16 GB) or $1,310.66 (128 GB, P4000)
Precision 7920 Tower, configurable base The Server Store, from $799.00; CPUs and memory add Grade D build-your-own $722.98 (64); Grade D complete, 2 × Silver 4114, 16 GB, K2200, 1400 W, $980.92 (64); standard build-your-own from $1,271.84

Dealer prices are our own captures of the listed pages on September 4–5, 2026 and change daily; terms as printed there. Our prices: PCSP catalog, September 10, 2026, units per listing.

The reading: W-2100 5820 base boxes sell for $390–450 and six-core T5810s under $350; a “ready” 5820 with 32 GB, NVMe and a Quadro runs $1,000–1,120 on the marketplaces, and the 7920 “from $799” is a barebones number, comparable to our $722.98 Grade D chassis.

When a Used Precision Tower Is the Wrong Buy

We sell 7,897 of these, so read this as the disclosure it is.

  • An Adobe shop on the 2026 releases. After Effects 26.x requires Windows 11 24H2 and AVX2 (Adobe’s requirements page, archived April 17, 2026), which removes the T3600/T3610 families (no AVX2) and the Tower 5810/7810/7910 and 3620 (no Windows 11). The cheapest tower clearing both is the $449.94 3630 (1 unit), then the $511.90 5820 (132). Same for a single-thread CAD seat: the cheapest T5810's E5-1650 v3 trails a W-2245 by 22% and an i7-11700 by 35%.
  • A 300 W card in a 425 W 5820, or three cards in a 7920 on a US outlet. Dell publishes no graphics budget for the 425 W build; a dual-CPU 7820 is limited to 160 W single-width cards; the 7920's 900 W budget needs a second CPU, the CL chassis and 220 V, and on 100–120 V its 1400 W unit delivers 1100 W. Budget the V7594 supply before the card, or buy a 7960 or a server for three GPUs.
  • Anything that needs the current platform. PCIe Gen5 storage, a 96-core Threadripper PRO, a 300 W RTX Pro 6000 Blackwell, a 450 W card in a 3680: no DDR4-era Precision does any of it, and our 5860, 7865 and 7960 shelves were sold out on September 10, 2026; new, $6,372.02 (5860) or $7,478.05 (7875) on dell.com that day.
  • A fleet that needs the vendor's firmware clock. Dell publishes no end-of-support dates; the last BIOS is the marker. Tower 5810: A34, November 17, 2020. 5820: 2.38.0 on August 9, 2024 per Dell, plus a July 17, 2025 release (2.44.0) cited only in a community bug report. 7820/7920: 2.50.0, October 15, 2025. A T5810 fleet is on its own; a 5820 or 7920 fleet is not, yet.
  • A contract that says OEM warranty. Our workstations carry our one-year warranty, extendable to five years at checkout; loose parts carry 90 days. If procurement or a regulator requires manufacturer coverage, a nine-year-old chassis with our warranty does not check that box; a new Precision does.
?

Dell Precision Towers: Frequently Asked Questions

Dell Precision 5820 power supply options: 425W, 685W or 950W?

Two, per Dell's spec sheet and owner's manual: 425 W or 950 W with Xeon W, 950 W only with Core X. No Dell document lists 685, 1000, 1100, 1125 or 1400 W for the 5820; 685 W is the Tower 5810/7810/T3610 supply. The upgrade is Dell part V7594, $149.99 and Limited Stock on dell.com on September 5, 2026.

Does the Precision 5820 support a 685W power supply?

Not per Dell. The 685 W unit is the previous generation's supply (Tower 5810: 685 or 425 W; Tower 7810: 825 or 685 W) and no 5820 document lists it. Above 425 W the 5820 moves to the 950 W unit Dell lists for the 5820 and 7820; owners report the 425 W build ships without graphics-card power leads.

What are the Dell Precision Tower 5810 specs?

Per Dell's 2014 spec sheet: one Xeon E5-1600 v3 or select E5-2600 v3 (v4 needs BIOS A12+), eight DDR4 RDIMM slots to 256 GB at 2133 (v3) or 2400 (v4), two graphics slots to 300 W total, a 685 or 425 W supply; not on Microsoft's Windows 11 list. Ours, September 10, 2026: from $103.98 build-your-own, $285.84 complete.

What are the Dell Precision T3610 specs?

Per Dell's 2013 spec sheet: one Xeon E5-1600 v2 up to 6 cores, eight DDR3 slots to 128 GB (1866 ECC), two graphics cards to 300 W total, a 685 or 425 W supply; announced September 9, 2013. Ivy Bridge predates AVX2, which Adobe requires, and no E5 is on Microsoft's Windows 11 list. Ours: sold out — 52 listings, none purchasable.

What is the Dell Precision 5820 release date?

Dell announced the 5820, 7820 and 7920 Towers on August 1, 2017 at SIGGRAPH, with orders opening October 3, 2017. Cascade Lake W-2200 processors and 2933 MT/s memory came later. The successor 5860 was announced March 24, 2023; the 5820 still received BIOS releases in 2024 and, per a community report, July 2025.

Can the Dell Precision 5820 run Windows 11?

Yes. Xeon W-2100/W-2200 and Core X 7000X/9000X/10000X are on Microsoft's Windows 11 supported Intel processors list (October 16, 2025 page and the 2021 original), the 5820 is on Dell's tested-for-upgrade list (KB 000187485, May 10, 2026), and it ships with TPM 2.0. The 24H2/25H2 lists that omit these families address OEMs building new devices, not owners upgrading.

What is the max RAM of the Dell Precision 7920?

Twenty-four DIMM slots, twelve per processor: up to 1.5 TB of DDR4-2666 ECC with two processors, 3 TB with 128 GB LRDIMMs and two “L” CPU SKUs, and 768 GB at 2933 MT/s, which needs Gold 62xx or Platinum 82xx processors. With one processor only twelve slots are live; the 7820 tops out at 768 GB.

Precision 7820 vs 7920: what is the difference?

Same Xeon Scalable processors, different chassis. The 7820 is the 5820's box: 12 DIMM slots to 768 GB, one 950 W supply, two cards. The 7920 is larger: 24 slots to 3 TB, a 1400 W supply and three 300 W cards with a second CPU, the CL chassis and 220 V. Ours: T7820 from $793.69, T7920 from $980.92.

Precision towers on our shelf today

Lowest listed price in each category and what is on the shelf right now — barebones chassis included, so a complete build costs more than the figure shown. This block is the one part of the article that refreshes itself; every price in the text above is dated where it stands.

Every tower in this article, on one shelf

T5810 from $103.98, T5820 from $124.99, T7820 from $334.98, T7920 from $722.98 — tested, one-year warranty, same-day shipping before 1 pm EST, with the unit count on every listing.

Refurbished Dell workstations Precision T7920 in stock

The Bottom Line

The question 4,297 people asked our Search Console has a two-number answer: the Precision 5820 Tower ships with a 425 W or a 950 W supply, and every other wattage they typed belongs to a different Precision.

The rest sorts itself by date. The E5 towers of 2014 are the cheapest ECC workstations on the market and Windows 10 or Linux machines for life. The 5820, 7820 and 7920 of 2017 are the oldest Precisions on both vendors' Windows 11 lists, still receiving firmware in 2025; memory speed and graphics budget follow the processor and the power supply. From the 3660 onward it is a new purchase. The prices here were true on September 10, 2026; the documents will outlast them.